Church Too Girly for Men

1 Feb

Dad has written some short comments on an article from the Times which reported the findings of a charity that 70% of church attenders are women.

“Think of the torture a man would have to go through to sing song 912 in Mission Praise, Oh I was made for this to know your tender kiss…my feet were made to dance…or 943 There is none like you none else can touch my heart like you…or 980 Draw me close to you…never let me go….to feel your warm embrace. What man in his right mind would sing that even if he wasn’t an exclusive psalm singer!  So what will bring men back to church? Proper preaching, proper worship, real men and most of all the Spirit of God.”

Read Full Article

3 Responses to “Church Too Girly for Men”

  1. Tori February 1, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Maybe that’s why Christian girls always find that there are no Christian boys…. Church has scared them off ;)

  2. Sam February 1, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    It’s true… the happy-claps have ‘chickified’ the church…

    Interesting quote from Mark Driscoll –

    “Some emergent types recast Jesus as a limp-wrist hippie in a dress with a lot of product in His hair, who drank decaf and made pithy Zen statements about life while shopping for the perfect pair of shoes. In Revelation, Jesus is a prize fighter with a tattoo down His leg, a sword in His hand and the commitment to make someone bleed. That is a guy I can worship. I cannot worship the hippie, diaper, halo Christ because I cannot worship a guy I can beat up.”

    I guess people don’t like the idea of a big, scary, sovereign God, so they try to turn God into a big, huggable, teddy bear kinda figure… Which turns the church into a big happy-clap fan club with no substance, and wooses instead of warriors.

  3. HisGirlFriday February 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    oh, this is quite a subject for myself, and for my husband. I will have to form a good response, which I don’t have time for at the moment. These two books come to mind, the first one was written by our friend:

    ‘The Danger Habit’ by Mike Barrett

    ‘Wild at Heart’ by John Elderedge

    basically, are men really called (or ‘genetically wired’) to be passive polite pew sitters? (and do we really want churches who have men who are passive, polite pew sitters?)

Leave a Reply

