New RP Blogger

20 Jan

Renwick House FC captain Philip Dunwoody has become the latest RP to enter the blogosphere with Mi7:7. Here’s what he says about himself and his blog:

“Hi, I’m Philip, Christian, politics student and 10 billionth person to start a blog. I’m interested in Biblical Christianity, politics and writing; this blog is an attempt to combine the three. As Christians, when it comes to politics, we often seem confused, ill-informed, or unsure what we should think or how we should approach the conversation. Since the Bible clearly tells us to have an interest in our authorities (Romans 13:1-7), to have a position on everything from poverty to taxes (Sermon On The Mount) and to always be ready to give an answer for the faith we profess (1 Peter 3:15) and to do it with gentleness and respect, having no position on politics seems rather inadequate. So this is my attempt to forge one. It’s just my opinion on what’s happening in the world, in Northern Ireland, or in our churches, with the aim of getting you thinking about things and starting a conversation. Micah 7:7 is my starting point and sign-post for the blog, and I hope to stick to it. Thanks for reading!”

His first few posts have been a comment on The Times’ response to the Iris Robinson scandal, a book review of The Audacity to Win and Two Responses to Haiti. We are eagerly looking forward to reading more of Philip’s perspective on politics and other issues in the future.

“But as for me, I will look to the LORD;
I will wait for the God of my salvation;
my God will hear me.” Micah 7:7

BREAKING NEWS: Renwick Captain Philip Dunwoody has announced his imminent retirement from Belfast Superleague football. The Renwick stalwart will lead the team out for one last time in the Jonny McCollum Cup next week.

6 Responses to “New RP Blogger”

  1. Peter January 20, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Will there be a guard of honour to applaud the retiring skipper onto the pitch?!

  2. Steelo January 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Now that would nearly be worth coming over for!

  3. Philip January 20, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    For the record, I did not request this post!! Although it can only help the blog readership :p Steelo, any particular reason why every time I got to your blog these days it freezes up my whole computer?!

  4. Steelo January 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Dunno Phil but Nancy reported the same problem! And that it reported lots of drug names?! Will do a new post sometime and see if anything changes! Anyone else experiencing this problem?

    (And no cheeky ‘Yeah on mine every time you go on to it it says there have been no posts since the 12th of January’ or any ‘witty’ remarks like that!)

  5. Peter F January 23, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    yeah, it freezes my internet explorer if i stay on too long.

  6. Steelo January 28, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Should be fixed now, but let me know if it causes anymore gip.

Leave a Reply

