Rugby Star Explains Why He Won’t Play On Sundays

5 Jan

Euan Murray has spoken publicly for the first time on his decision not to play on the Sabbath Day.

“It’s basically all or nothing, following Jesus. I don’t believe in pick ‘n’ mix Christianity. I believe the bible is the word of God, so who am I to ignore something from it?… I realised it’s quite simple, really. Jesus said, ‘If you love me, keep my commandments’ and there are 10 commandments – not nine.” Euan Murray

Read Full Article in the Daily Record

Listen to an hour long interview from Sermon Audio with the man himself.

Legend

3 Responses to “Rugby Star Explains Why He Won’t Play On Sundays”

  1. HisGirlFriday January 5, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    “It’s basically all or nothing, following Jesus. I don’t believe in pick ‘n’ mix Christianity.”

    great quote.
    And, that really is the truth of it, isn’t it.
    Due to my work as a Reg. Nurse, I have to work Sundays/holidays. Still, I think it’s about attitude…are we living for ourselves or living for God?

    My personal opinion is that Euan has made a choice that was not easy. He lives in what might be termed as a “man’s man” world. You have to be that much stronger in your integrity/walk, for that world is rather unforgiving.
    …I say this after hearing stories from family/friends and their experiences from military, law enforcement, (Kiwi) rugby.

  2. Conor January 10, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    thats brilliant.
    completely deflates any argument otherwise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Tribute…. « Another King - November 25, 2010

    […] just in case you think you’re suffering from deja vu, we have done a previous post about Murray, but I felt this short one is just another example of his staunch commitment to his faith and […]

Leave a Reply

