Wallace Senior SU Weekend

16 Dec

This post has been a long time in coming, just wanted to relay to AK readers how both beneficial and fun, this years SU Weekend for Wallace was, around 57 pupils attended, consisting of just Lower and Upper 6ths. (I also wrote it for Lisburn RP’s recent Winter Newsletter so apologies for it being pretty cheesy in places!)

There were a lot of giddy faces going about school on Friday 13th November as this was the departure date of our S.U Weekend. I was experiencing mixed emotions before departing for the infamous White Park Bay Youth Hostel in Ballintoy. As I was in Upper Sixth, this meant it was to be my last S.U Weekend. Over the years I have greatly benefitted from these times away with my school friends, learning a lot from them and from God. However I had also been appointed to Meeting Co-ordinator of the S.U this year which meant a lot more in terms of organisation and responsibility. So I was sure to be in for a whirlwind weekend!

Every one who was at the Weekend

We immediately broke some S.U weekend traditions on the Friday night as we arrived safely and on time. After quickly unpacking, we got settled in and got ready for our first session of the weekend. These included times of worship, a talk from God’s word, discussion and Prayer.

Over the weekend, we were studying the book of Ecclesiastes and Andrew Curry a.k.a AC the B from Bethany Baptist Church (I spent ages on SWS trying to search for a picture/link but all I could find was info on Simon!) was guiding us through it. We looked throughout the weekend at the continual theme of ‘How Life is Truly Meaningless without God’. We journeyed with Solomon, king of Israel, who had immeasurable wealth, wisdom and power as he explored various avenues to try and seek satisfaction in his live, but in his every conclusion, he found no satisfaction. This was very useful for us as young Christians, to really see how it’s only through God that we can satisfied and that chasing after worldly pleasures is meaningless.

On the Bus

On the Beach Walk

Glenda is loving that Balloon?!

As the weekend progressed, we went on to look at later chapters of the book where we see the call to ‘remember your Creator in the days of your youth’. A phrase which I hoped would stay with many of my fellow pupils on the weekend, especially knowing the pressures for young Christians at school and at university. If anything, the weekend gave me a real push to use my time more wisely with my Christian friends at school, chatting with them about spiritual things and praying with and for them.

It's not Terry's....it's mine....

Girls Jumping

Go Jump...

Upper 6th Lads

The weekend was a real privilege for me to share in the worship of God with my friends from school. However, it was also great to share times of fellowship with them and we did this on various occasions during the weekend also. We played a number of House Games on Friday night, then we were down at the beach on Saturday afternoon, using the dunes and the water which proved very entertaining. Late on Saturday night, we had our traditional beach walk, gazing at the stars, playing a few games, walking along the Coast, it was a great evening.

Gregg will be impressed by this Photo!

The ever elusive Andy Curry

The usual pile ones are always great craic....

All in all, a final fabulous S.U Weekend for me, lots of memories and craic for me and my school friends to come away with. God was good in his provision and care for us over the weekend.

Ecclesiastes 12:1, ‘Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near of which you will say, “I have no pleasure in them”.’

3 Responses to “Wallace Senior SU Weekend”

  1. Peter December 16, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    Not just Gregg … who wouldn’t be impressed by a cow standing on a bench?!!!

  2. Alastair McCollum December 17, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    It’s actually behind the bench Peter……

  3. Joel 'SWS till I die' L December 18, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    I’m with Peter. It does look like the cow is standing on the bench, ready to jump off and attack…

Leave a Reply

